The Monastery has been the home of the Priests and Brothers of the Passionist Community for more than 120 years.
The original 16 acres of land was owned by Arthur Hardy, and in 1847 the ownership passed to Joseph Barrow Montefiore. Adelaide’s Montefiore Hill is named after his brother Jacob.
Mr Montefiore built a grand house known as ‘The Glen’ and planted a selection of rare and imported trees and plants, some of which still grace the grounds.
The Passionist Community purchased the property for 2500 pounds in 1896.
The original house was demolished in the early 1940’s on order of the local Council which considered it uninhabitable and unsafe, and the current Spanish Mission-inspired building was built over several stages.
The Monastery has earned an impressive reputation as a function centre ‘with a difference’.
Many of South Australia’s best-known companies have made use of our unique, state-of-the-art facilities and beautiful grounds, and enjoyed food fresh from our on-site kitchen, created by our talented chefs.
We are delighted to share some of the testimonials we have received.